#4 – Art = Access + Action (AKA how to stop judging YouTube and Twitter & use them to your advantage)

Standard

I recently watched a documentary, PressPausePlay (you can learn more about the film here and you can watch the entire documentary on NetFlix), and it opened my eyes to a revolution I have been seeing happen around me for the last few years – we are so powerful.

Technology has been advancing rapidly for decades but that means next to nothing to the common public.  I remember being twelve years old and thinking that by sixteen I would be driving around a hovercraft.  And I wasn’t the only one who thought such things would be possible.  Watch the Back To The Future movies.  As a society we’re oftentimes off the mark when it comes to our perception of technology.  What makes all the difference is access.  Only recently has technology become so widely accessible.

Twelve year old Stefanie didn’t just sit around dreaming of flying cars.  When I was twelve I would set up my family’s huge VHS cam-corder on a dresser and dance, sing, improvise scenes and monologues, and even confide my thoughts and feelings to that lens.  I was VLOGGING!  Nowadays, those videos would’ve probably been recorded on my MacBook, would’ve been uploaded to YouTube, and could’ve even made me a YouTube celebrity.  In fact, I might want to transfer that footage to my computer because they are certainly viral-worthy.  I’m okay with humiliating myself for internet stardom.

So, with all this access, anyone who knows how to upload a video can present to the world their works of ….art?  Okay, so sometimes it’s just a bunch of noise and inside jokes that don’t translate to the masses, but some YouTubers have become household names.  Even Justin Beiber came from YouTube (can we put him back? No, just kidding. He’s a cute little lesbian.)

Here‘s an article about five celebrities who got their start on YouTube.

So, what made these people famous?  A special look?  A good voice?  Talent?  Sure, but I live in New York City and we all have those things.  What made the difference?

ACTION.

A special look doesn’t cut it – it never has.
A good voice doesn’t cut it – it never has.
Talent doesn’t even cut it!

As artists, people used to have to wait for someone to give them permission.  They had to wait for someone with an “in” to let them in.  I could dance in front of a cam-corder all I wanted and it wouldn’t mean a thing.  But that’s changed.  It changed with access.

But access means nothing without action.

So, if you’re an artist, make art, and feed it to the masses.  That’s what you’re here for.

We have no excuses anymore.

Read this speech by Patton Oswalt… He knows what’s up.

Leave a Reply

